PX125 Stuck In Gear

Anything related to Vespas... ask tech questions, post helpful info, or just read and learn.
Run15

Evening All,

I have recently bought a 5 month old 2015 PX 125. Just been out on it and noticed that it wouldn't let me change down from 3rd to 2nd. I tried 3rd to 4th and it selected fine, but then wouldn't let me select back down to 3rd. The shifter was completely stiff and could not be moved each time I tried to down shift.

I'm a noob with scooters and riding, but I'm not aware that I was doing anything wrong. I thought it may have been the cables to the batwing that needed adjusting, but nothing seemed to work. Tried rocking the bike back and forth whilst trying to shift but its completly stuck in 4th. Tried moving the batwing by hand and it will not budge at all.

Spoke to local dealer as its under warranty and can take it next week but obviously have to pay for it to be transported there.

Before I go to that trouble and expense, is this an issue anyone has come across and what do you think may be the problem. As I say, I'm a noob and don't wanna look an idiot taking it in and paying £60 for transport if its something simple or theres something i haven't checked.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers
mick1
Main scooter: Li Avanti 225

I'd disconnect cables on the selector box, then with the wheel lifted and a screwdriver pushing the selector, move the wheel (3rd pair of hands might be useful) and hopefully you should move the gear selector.

If successful then I'd whip the headset cover off and see if any thing is stopping the cables from moving.

Not a common fault so hopefully something simple.........
Run15

Cheers Mick1.