Widening ports

Anything related to Lambrettas... ask tech questions, post helpful info, or just read and learn.
dapper
Main scooter: The Biriani Bullet

Not being an expert by any means on tuning (complete novice, but willing to give it a go), but is widening of the exhaust port on the cylinder simply governed by the distance between the ring pegs. I have read threads about 65-70% of bore :!: :!: :?: but don't follow why this percentage. Could someone elaborate, please? And I understand that widening of inlet/exhaust ports makes for a more torquey engine, whereas heightening of ports makes it more revvy. I understand that port timings affect how much fuel/exhaust can be inducted/exhausted whilst the port is open, but widths of ports must have a similar effect, as although the port is open for a shorter time, the width of the port allows more fuel/exhaust in/out.
Compact Toolbox Flywheel Holder
oldbiker

The maximum width of any port is limited by the material that the ring is made from,
jap pistons use rings made from steel which is very rigid and almost unsnapable (you can tie them in knots) they are less likely to pop into the ports when the engine is running, so you can go for port widths of about 70-72% of the bore with good port shaping, this will allow you to keep the port height down and help to produce torque rather than revs.

cast irorn rings are much more brittle and will deffinatly snap with ports of this size as they will pop into the ports, hence the 62% limit. but even that is only on ports that are quite oval.

cast iron rings do have one very good point that is they tend to last much longer because the iron contains plenty free graphite which acts as a lubricant
sean brady scooters
Dealer

imagine say two barrels,both with say 180 degree exhaust ports ..but one is wider...
although both have the same timing ,the wider port gives more area.and so flows more.

same for inlets and transfer ports
its a time/area thing. :D