ST90 vs SAE30

Anything related to Lambrettas... ask tech questions, post helpful info, or just read and learn.
Hughieboy
Main scooter: Lambretta Li S2 GT186

I'm sure this has been answered 1000 times but I can't find it...

I have recently built a small block GT186 motor, my first build and all is running well but the clutch slips a little when you give it the beans. It currently has a Surflex 4 plate clutch that's been in for a few years so I decided to upgrade to a Readspeed 5 plate clutch as they seem to get good reviews.

However, sitting on the side at after 4pm on a Friday (great timing) I currently have a new bottle of ST90 gear oil but Readspeed recommend SAE30. I'm not an oil expert, I guess this is to do with viscosity but of course being the weekend I want to get on with it and I doubt I will buy that in Halfords... plus I have the new bottle of ST90 already purchased, less what went in when the build was finished last week before discovering the clutch slippage.

Can someone more knowledgeable than I tell me whether this is just a recommendation or if it's essential to correct operation? I don't want to mess things up obviously but would prefer not to have to wait another week if it's not essential. Being a bit of a shed numpty spanner twiddler I don't fully understand or appreciate the difference/importance.

Thanks.
Mrnice71
Main scooter: Lambretta series 3

Firstly readspeed recommend Putoline SAE 90 , its says on the bottle special lambretta gear oil and l have found this to be by far the best gear oil , also make sure u give the plates a good soak in the oil preferably over nite , and ruff the steels also . What springs are u using ?
mick1
Main scooter: Li Avanti 225

Doesn't really answer the question .

Is ST90 a compatible replacement ?

Interesting, i'ld like to know as well.
Scooterdude
Main scooter: Lambretta LI 125 S3

ST90 and SAE90 are one and the same.
fairspares
Main scooter: Lambretta GP RB252