Spanish Li150 Gearbox

Anything related to Lambrettas... ask tech questions, post helpful info, or just read and learn.
Lamaddict

Sticky' book says they aren't too good but does anyone have any experience with them? The ratios don't look terrible to me. It's going to be for a GT186, using a BGM Clubman
Donnie
Main scooter: Lambretta Eibar Series 2

I assume you mean the Series 3 li150 spanish box, yes they have a huge 3rd to 4th jump. Spanish Series 2 li150 boxes though are the same as the italian ones.
Donnie.
Lamaddict

Yes the S3 one. I know it says that but when you look at the figures it doesn't seem that bad :?
onthelam
Main scooter: not yet

I have no empirical experience.

The torque curve for a GT186 looks pretty flat between 4500-6800 so if you change gear at 7500 you will come in right about 5500 which is right in the middle of the flat curve.

[youtube]avPGLg1iSPc[/youtube]
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=avPGLg1iSPc
(Sorry I've given up with the youtube video insert voodoo. Just open it your self.)

It is after all the gearbox you have. So unless you want strip it down?
There is a fair chance I will end up with a Vijay Mk1 which has a large gap between 2nd and 3rd.

If you live or ride somewhere where there is a long hill you might be at a disadvantage riding two up but only for the duration of the hill. If it is a two lane road you will be limited to the speed of the other traffic anyway.

It is what it is, just ride and enjoy.
LI225Canada
Main scooter: Serveta LI150 Special

I am running a Spanish LI150 GB in my machine. Originally a Serveta LI150, had the spigot opened up to accommodate a Rapido 225 classic.
Running with a 28mm Delly and an Ancillotti exhaust. Had to change out the front sprocket to bring it to a 4.9 ratio as it would rev and shake-the-poop-out-a-yah. (maybe its the LI silent blocks???)
My original intent was to use the MRB Big Box as well but every time they are available I have no funding available, strange how that works.