rattle in neutral and clutch

Anything related to Lambrettas... ask tech questions, post helpful info, or just read and learn.
cookie81

having a bit of a binge toniht regarding posts so i apoligise! but anyone know know why my scoot would rattle in neutral but when warm but when i pull in the clutch i have no rattle ! i am no mechanic and am a novice with lambretta engines! but when when cold i dont get the rattlein neutral and gear changes are sharp and crip! when the engine is warm i get the rattle only in neutral but if i pull the clutch lever in it goes! also when engine is warm sometimes particularly at high revs sometimes i feels like its clunking into gear! like the clutch doesnt fully engage! im wondering if its something todo with thickness of plates and them expanding when they get warm menaing that the clutch doesnt work properly! if anyone has any thoughts orcan explain in laymans terms howclutch works etc it ouwl be appreciated
thanks in advance
rog60
Main scooter: Indian GP200

Re first item:- the rattle you can hear is the gear box end plate shim which has worn to where it SHOULD be checked for excessive wear and replaced, but in practical terms this is not always necessary or practical for reasons of getting someone to do it (labour costs). If you listen to other Lambretta engines you will probably realise that they others do it as well, mine does. I check the end plate shim clearance ONLY when the transmission cover is off and if the gap is really excessive (not often)I replace the shim by calculating the excess play difference plus the thickness of fitted shim and fit a thicker shim.

Not really sure about your clutch problem, you may be right about the temperatures but also check the oil level in the gearbox. Any Lambretta workshop manual will give instructions on the procedure. If you have a (Slimstyle Series 3) lambretta then 'Sticky's' book is highly recommended. You'll learn a lot very quickly :!: :!:
NO IT'S NOT A F***IN* MOPED!!!!!!