Metalflake

Anything related to paint & bodywork issues on scooters....
woody

I,m looking at putting some flake on a lammy frame 70,s stylee ( nice an thick ) i,ve bought the flake but how to i put it on ? some people say in lacquer some say in a binder , whats right ? an whats the best way to get a nice smooth finish ? cheerrs chaps
Wayne Miller
Main scooter: Vespa 50 Special (Rotax Proto)

woody wrote:I,m looking at putting some flake on a lammy frame 70,s stylee ( nice an thick ) i,ve bought the flake but how to i put it on ? some people say in lacquer some say in a binder , whats right ? an whats the best way to get a nice smooth finish ? cheerrs chaps
Im an amateur and have only used it twice but . . . . . .

Apply base coat,
mix flakes into clear coat and apply,
apply more clear coat minus flakes

To get a smooth finish flat it down after every coat
When I tried out metal flake I didnt flat after the flake was applied, I added another coat of clear coat as I didnt want to fook up the flake. (Just my opinion)
Stay tuned..............
sean brady scooters
Dealer

the way i do it is to apply the colour base ,and when dry (usually next day to be sure) mix your flakes with 2k laquer and apply in coats every 20 mins or so depending on temp until you achieve your desired coverage .
then just carry on but with just clear laquer for another 5 coats (again at 20 min intervals between coats)at least to ensure that the laquer burys the flakes ...then leave for a day or two to fully cure/harden..
then sand /flat off with 400/500 sand paper.
then apply another 3 coats at least of clear laquer.and again leave to dry for a couple of days
then flat off with 1500 wet and dry ,followed by 2000 wet and dry ...then buff/machine polish .
Sean Brady Scooters - 01765 690 698
stuckintheeighties
Main scooter: SX200

Mine was done professionally by Dave Dickinson. He uses 16 coats of laquer.
corrado
Dealer
Main scooter: Lambretta GP