front disc brake tie bar length and angle, please help :)

FAQ tech questions, please check if the answer to your question is in here before posting elsewhere.
tonydevon
Main scooter: '71 GP125

Hi, I am new to scooters as you might know, but I have basic understanding of engineering etc

my problem is thus

I have just one job left before my build is off to powdercoat etc, I am trying to sort out the front brake tie bar

now my common sense and logic says that it should be the same length eye to eye as the axle to pivot holes on the links

it should also run parrallel to the straight line thru the axle and pivot holes on the link

to achieve that its really not going to look how I want it

I have looked around online and various pages etc, seen some done what I class as properly, and others with tiebars short and at different angles

can anyone on here please offer advice, I thought this best place to ask as theres some proper builders on here :)

thanks
heavy is good, heavy is reliable, and if it does fail, hit them with it!!!
tonydevon

heres a scootrs one, so I assume that running it shorter and different angle is fine, if a professional company do it? or do peple modify them?Image

and it appears that Mr Frank Sanderson does something similar, so maybe Im wrong with my theory?
soulsurfer

Last edited by soulsurfer on Mon Mar 24, 2014 5:59 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Turn On, Tune In, Cop out!
tonydevon

Scratch build. 220mm wavey disc.
Caliper carrier is made and done. Just this linkage to sort.
tonydevon

Im gonna go with the easy mounting route, worst case scenario is that it doesnt feel right, not the end of the world to drop the shock off, cut mount, move it and spray it, can get them re powdercoated easy enough

the last scooter I rode didnt even had dampers so Im figuring that this has to be an improvement, no matter how bad it is
Minority
Main scooter: Li230 S3