Best way to turn off lambretta...??

FREE tuning and maintenance info, plus links to our original tuning pages that started it all off.
S2CUF
Main scooter: Lambretta li150 special

Hey. So I'm new to all this lambretta malarkey... What's the best way to turn off my lambretta, bloody thing doesn't seem to want to start... It's a li150 kitted to a 175. And a 22mm carb.. Once it's started it runs fine.. But when I turn it off. It doesn't seem to want to start again, I have to take the plug out, which is wet, dry it off, kick over the engine with no plug, then put back in and sometimes I have to keep doing this, I have always got a good spark, but struggle to get her to fire up. I was told to turn the fuel tap off, and let it run out of fuel and die off naturally.. Please be gentle as I know apsolutely nothing about these....
rosscla
Main scooter: Lambretta

First change the plug for a new one and ensure the gap is set correctly. This could lead to poor or incomplete combustion.

It's more likely it could be flooding, too much fuel getting into the cylinder.

Sometimes this can be caused by needle on the float being worn or the incorrect one. Also check, if it's a Jetex carb, that the pin and float in the carb bowl move freely. It's also, with Jetex, worth seeing if the jets themselves are genuine Dellorto parts. Are they marked at all?

Does it have a standard air box / filter arrangement?
"Our dilemma is that we hate change and love it at the same time; what we really want is for things to remain the same but get better."
S2CUF

Yes standard air box etc.. What would be the correct spark plug?. And what should the gap be? What do you mean by that? Educate me please.......
coaster